Welcome to the IAAS Website


The aim of the IAAS is to promote the development and growth of high quality ambulatory surgery worldwide. To this end, it encourages an international exchange of ideas and stimulates programmes of education, research and audit.

The IAAS publishes the journal Ambulatory Surgery, holds biennial international congresses, assists with national meetings and lobbies national and international healthcare bodies.

These activities have resulted in the founding of new national associations for ambulatory surgery, a growth in ambulatory surgery rates worldwide and the incorporation of ambulatory surgery in the strategies of an increasing number of national healthcare providers and international bodies.


IAAS has initiated a project in association with the European Union through the Structural Reform Support Service (SRSS) to develop and promote ambulatory surgery in 8 hospitals in Central Hungary. The SRSS helps EU countries to design and carry out structural reforms as part of their efforts to support job creation and sustainable growth.

The initial ‘kick-off’ meeting was held on May 3rd 2019 at the Ministry of Human Capacities in Budapest and was introduced by Professor Horvath, State Secretary of Health who has pledged high-level ministerial support for this project. Although the proposal was initiated by the Hungarian Government,  IAAS is the EU’s contracted provider with local assistance from the Hungarian Association of Ambulatory Surgery (HAAS). IAAS will initially undertake benchmarking of ambulatory facilities and ambulatory pathways in 8 hospitals in Central Hungary followed by site visits later in the year. The project will then expand to provide training for ambulatory personnel through TtT courses to facilitate the modernisation and sustainability of their ambulatory services. The final outcome at the end of this 18 month project is to formulate a strategic framework policy on ambulatory surgery for the Hungarian Government.

This project is the IAAS 4th collaboration with the EU to deliver quality improvements in Ambulatory Surgery in member countries. Our previous successful initiatives included:-‘Day Surgery:Making it Happen’, ‘Day Surgery Data Project’,and the ‘Daysafe’ project.


Join the IAAS

Founded to promote high quality ambulatory surgery worldwide, the IAAS provides an international multidisciplinary forum for sharing information on the practice and development of this innovative approach to providing surgical care. This is facilitated by a biennial congress and Advisory Assembly. Full Members may send two delegates to the annual General Assembly meeting.

see Membership Details

Journal Introduction

Ambulatory Surgery provides a multidisciplinary international forum for all health care professionals involved in day care surgery. The editors welcome reviews, original articles, case reports, short communications and letters relating to the practice and management of ambulatory surgery. The journal also publishes book reviews and a calendar of forthcoming events.

Journal home

IAAS General Assembly

The General Assembly of the IAAS consists of 2 representatives from each member country.